Huawei P Smart (2019) Review, Specifications, Price

Hey guys, what is up? So, Huawei has been pushing out a lot of products over the years, some are good, others are great. With the P Smart, we had the first one come out last year (2018). It had a small screen but good enough RAM options.

Huawei has brought back two versions of the P Smart, hoping to make it better and more affordable. One of which is the P Smart (2019) and the other is the P Smart+ (or the Nova 3i).

Hi guys, my name is Shaibu from Shu’s Techs, and today, I will be reviewing the Huawei P Smart (2019 edition), while listening to Coldplay.

P Smart 2020

With that being said, let’s get to it.

Key Features

  • EMUI 9.0 with Android 9.0 (Pie)
  • 6.21 inch 1080 x 2340 LTPS IPS LCD capacitive touchscreen
  • Octa-core (4×2.2 GHz Cortex-A73 & 4×1.7 GHz Cortex-A53) CPU
  • Mali-G51 MP4
  • 3GB RAM
  • 32GB / 64GB Internal Storage
  • 8 MP / 16 MP Front Camera and 13 MP + 2 MP Rear Camera
  • 3400mAh non-removable battery
  • Dual SIM

Design

Being a mid-ranger, you’d not expect this phone to blow you away with designs. But, with this phone, that is slightly not the case. You get a really nice design here.

The Huawei P Smart (2019) comes in four colors, Midnight Black, Aurora Blue, Sapphire Blue and Coral Red.

P Smart 2022

The back of the phone looks really good with a very reflective build, at first you may think it’s made out of glass but really it is plastic. How it curves onto the edges of the phone just makes it look and feel like a premium device when held.

It is pretty light when held. That could be something you might want to know, I’m not really sure, but yeah I said it.

Only thing you have to watch out for here is how much of your fingerprints are going to get on the back, yes, it is one really good fingerprint magnet. It will be best to just get a case for it. Besides, getting a case may improve on the weight, if you’re concerned with that.

Since we’ve already started talking about the back, let’s just keep going. So, you get a vertically placed dual camera setup here with a LED flash right underneath and you get a fingerprint scanner in the middle.

On the front of the phone, you get a Dewdrop Notch design. Dewdrop Notches are great because they don’t get too intrusive and it’s a good thing it was applied here.

The Notch houses the selfie camera and right above it is the earpiece for calls.

At the bottom is a notification LED. Usually, notification LED’s are placed at the top but well, I’m not sure why it’s at the bottom here.

It shows different colors, but I feel like you may not notice it sometimes, cause it is not very bright and it is really small.

Not a lot going on the left side of the phone (which is where most SIM and MicroSD slots are placed). On the top is where you get the SIM and MicroSD card slot.

P Smart 2026

On the right side are the power and volume buttons, all in reachable positions.

Finally, on the bottom are the single speaker, the USB port, and a 3.5mm Headphone Jack. It’s always good to know phones still have a Headphone Jack, but it’s time to start accepting the fact that we will not be seeing them anymore in a couple of years.

The overall design on the phone is quite nice. I mean for a mid-ranger, it is good enough, even if it’s plastic.

The Sapphire Blue color option has a really nice gradient look. The way the color transitions is just beautiful. I may be a lover of black but the Sapphire Blue one just makes the phone look different from the rest.

Display

One big improvement that has been made on the phone compared to the 2018 version is the Display.

On the 2019 version, you get a really nice 6.21 inch screen. Large enough for some nice experience when it comes to video watching, gaming and the likes.

It is an LTPS IPS LCD capacitive touchscreen panel.

The phone has a screen to body ratio of 83%. Bezels are slimmer and display is optimized.

It has a screen resolution of 1080 x 2340 pixels and you get some decent viewing angles also.

Colors appear accurate, images are sharp and shadows are good.

P Smart 2029

The phone slightly suffers from two things. First, you don’t get a really bright screen outdoors, but as usual, it is not that bad especially when compared to last year’s.

The second thing is that, just like the View 20, you might notice some backlight bleed, mostly on the bottom edge of the screen, but it isn’t very obvious unless you’re looking at a really white background.

Although the notch is not intrusive, you can still cover it with a black bar if you just want to get rid of it completely, from the settings.

Overall, for its price, I say you get a very good display.

Cameras

On the front, you either have an 8 Megapixel lens or a 16 Megapixel lens, depending on the one you go for, you will get slightly different results.

I have switched from Coldplay to White Lies.

Images appear detailed on both (obviously better on the 16 Megapixel lens) and edge detection is quite good on portrait mode.

There is a lot of detail on every shot and colors are accurate.

You can also use the camera for face recognition to unlock your phone and do other security functions.

The camera is quite fast, when unlocking.

Would have been really good if it had a dual camera setup with one of the lenses being a lens for wide photos.

On the back is the 13 Megapixel Main camera and a 2 Megapixel lens for depth sensing.

P Smart 2027

You can use the AI mode to scan objects with the camera, the phone identifies the object and opens up an online store if you’re interested in buying the product.

Anyway, photos taken in good lighting conditions are quite good, colors are nice, dynamic range is okay.

There’s a lot of noise reduction compared to last year’s and details are accurate.

With AI mode on, you will be getting a little more accurate colors and a lot more details. This is because the AI mode selects the best resolution for the perfect picture.

Portrait mode takes really good pictures as well, focus is really good, edges are well captured as well.

Night shots are okay on the camera, they aren’t as great as daytime pictures though. Pictures appear a little less detailed and a bit noisy. You can fix that by turning on Night Mode.

With Night Mode on, you get sharper and more detailed photos. Not as good as some of the top phones out there but definitely better than the normal mode and that of last year’s.

Night Mode requires steady hands. Ensure the subjects aren’t moving either, else pictures will come out blurry.

With improvement in technology, we will get to a time when Night Mode shots will be a normal thing, fast and accurate regardless if we’re still or in motion.

Videos are quite okay, colors come out punchy, maybe a little too punchy. Only problem here is the electronic stabilization. The phone doesn’t have that.

Videos come out weird if the phone moves while recording. Not saying videos will come out unwatchable though.

You can record videos in 1080p at 30 and 60 frames a second with the rear camera, but the selfie camera records videos in 1080p at 30 frames.

Overall, for its price, I believe this is a good device when it comes to cameras.

Performance

Performance on the P Smart (2019) is actually pretty good.

Before we get into actual details and specifications, let’s talk about those minor things that are important but we tend to overlook sometimes.

First of all, the fingerprint scanner.

The fingerprint scanner is fast enough. Unlocking the phone only takes about half a second. It can’t be compared to some of the best phones out there but it serves well as a mid-ranger.

Call quality is good with the earpiece.

The speaker at the bottom, well, it is loud, but sometimes, when it gets too loud, sounds get a bit distorted, so watch out for that.

Headphones have good loudness as well when using the headphone jack.

Okay, now specifics.

The phone runs on Android 9.0 (Pie) with EMUI 9 as well. Like most Hauwei devices, you get Gesture Navigation on the P Smart. Activate it, swipe up (from the bottom of the screen) to go “Home”, swipe inwards from the left or right sides of the screen to go “Back” and swipe up and hold to see “Recent Apps”.

It might take some getting used to for new users, but eventually, you won’t want to go back after getting used to it.

Android 9.0 (Pie) gives you all the latest security patches you need on the phone. You will also be getting a lot of apps and games compatible with the phone.

You get a Hisilicon Kirin 710 Chipset on the phone and a 2.2 GHz Octa-core CPU. Handling apps and games on the phone is not a problem.

P Smart 2019

High-end games run smooth, you may have to lower the settings on the games to ensure that you get no lags though. The RAM may sometimes not be sufficient enough for some high-end games at max settings.

With the Mali-G51 MP4 GPU though, you actually get a smooth experience while gaming on the phone. Frame rates are stable, gameplay is fluid. Overall, it is okay.

RAM and Internal Storage

This is the only part I feel like the phone takes a step back.

The P Smart (2019) only has a 3GB of RAM variant. Unlike the 2018 version that also has a 4GB of RAM version.

3GB of RAM is enough for now, but I doubt it will be able to handle multitasking after some time.

I’ve seen phones with 2GB of RAM that constantly need to be restarted just to get it back to running smoothly.

When it comes to Internal storage, you do get two options, a 32GB version and a 64GB version. You can expand with a microSD card if you want to.

You can expand with an SD card of up to 512GB. That is good enough to handle a lot of media files cause both Internal storage versions won’t be good enough on the long run.

Battery

You get a non-removable 3,400 mAh Li-Ion battery. As low as that may sound, it is pretty good on the tests I checked out.

It has an endurance rating of about 88 hours. Heavy users can use the phone for up to a day, you may need to charge it but it shouldn’t be more than twice a day.

P Smart 2021

Light users may have to charge each night before going to bed.

Only problem here is that you don’t get fast charging with the phone, but it charges faster than the 2018 version.

Charging for thirty minutes will give you about 35% of battery juice.

Connectivity

You get all sorts of supported features here.

It supports 4G, 3G, 2G, Bluetooth v4.2, WiFi, NFC, GPS, MicroUSB 2.0 and FM radio.

All the basic stuff a phone should have in terms of connectivity are here, except infrared.

Price

The Huawei P Smart (2019) costs around $200.

Please note that prices vary from time to time.

Conclusion

Overall, for a mid-range device, this phone is pretty good. Only problem that you might face is that it has 3GB of RAM, for now it will hold up, but as time goes, you will experience it slowing down.

It won’t happen very soon but eventually.

If you’re looking for a phone you want to use for a very long time, I would not really approve of it, but if you want a phone to just use for a while, yeah, go ahead, get it.

P Smart 2030


Okay guys, that is all for now. There’s a lot of hype right now cause Samsung will be releasing the S10 on February the 20th. When it does get released, expect my review for it (or them, since we might be getting three versions).

Well, if you have comments or questions, let me know in the comment section and I will do my best to respond.

Do like, using the like button if you enjoyed reading.

Share and follow me on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter so you know when I post new contents.

It seems like I have to go now, though I really want to stay.


Share this:
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments